6.6 C
Tuesday, June 22, 2021

Public ScotRail investment across Glasgow stations

An investment programme at stations in the Glasgow area is announced today by ScotRail.

The station enhancements range from new waiting shelters and customer information screens to more public toilets, cycle spaces, public telephones, and station clocks.

More than 12 stations in the Glasgow area will be repainted during 2011 under the roll out of the new consistent brand for Scotland’s railways.

The programme over the next few months include:

  • New waiting shelters at Bridgeton and Hyndland
  • New customer information screens at Bridgeton and Scotstounhill, while the old television-style screens at Hyndland will be replaced with digital displays
  • New cycle storage facilities at Glasgow Queen Street, where the Travel Centre will be remodeled and include a fully accessible public toilet due for completion in June, and:
  • New public toilets at Hyndland

In addition, public telephones will be provided at Cathcart, Dalmuir, Drumchapel and Jordanhill stations.

Station entrance clocks are scheduled for Corkerhill, Langside, and Springburn stations.

And a new wheelchair-friendly ramp at Easterhousewill be provided as a result of the Department for Transport’s Access for All scheme which is managed by Transport Scotland north of the border.

Stations in the Glasgow area to be rebranded this year in the “ScotRail, Scotland’s Railway” unified livery announced by Transport Scotland are:

Alexandra Parade, Baillieston, Carmyle, Crookston, Duke Street, Hillington East, Hillington West, Langside, Mosspark, Mount Vernon, Scotstounhill, Shawlands, and Springburn.

Steve Montgomery, managing director of ScotRail, said: “These investments at stations underpin our commitment to delivering real benefits to our customers.”



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Rail News

Flexi Season tickets now available for South Western Railway customers

A new Flexi Season ticket is available to buy from today and can be used from Monday 28 June. This...

More like this...