6.6 C
London
Saturday, July 31, 2021

Chiltern cancel work day engineering in April

Chiltern Mainline engineering work taking place in April has been revised and minimised to reduce the impact on passengers.

The work was due to be conducted during three weekdays as well as covering weekends and bank holidays and will now take place over weekends and bank holidays in April.

The work day engineering works have been rescheduled to minimise disruption to passengers and will now be absorbed into the work taking place during the less busy month of August.

The company have also to free up the weekend at 16th and 17th April to accommodate the many passengers travelling to London for the London Marathon and the FA cup semi-finals.

Ian Baxter, Customer Service Director of Chiltern Railways said:  “As we are now launching Mainline in September, we have been able to take advantage of the month of August to accommodate works.  Chiltern Mainline will greatly improve rail travel to London.  However, it will require major upgrades to tracks and infrastructure to enable trains to run faster.  We attempt to minimise the impact on our customers as much as possible and we appreciate your patience as we build your Mainline.”

The following dates in April will have disruption on the Chiltern Railways line and you are advised to check the website to find out how you will be affected:  Saturday 2 April, Sunday 3 April, Saturday 9 April, Sunday 10 April, Good Friday 22 April, Saturday 23 April, Easter Sunday 24 April, Bank Holiday Monday 25 April, Bank Holiday Friday, 29 April and Saturday, 30 April.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Rail News

REMINDER: Multi-million pound investment to prevent railway landslips at Bearsted in Kent starts this weekend

Preparatory works for cutting reinforcement project start on Saturday. Buses will replace trains between Maidstone East and Ashford International. Passengers...

More like this...